Wednesday, June 3, 2009

Travel Classes and Class Codes

The various classes for travel in Indian Railways are as follows:
  • 1A - AC First Class
  • 2A - AC Second Class (2 tier)
  • FC - First Class
  • 3A - AC 3rd tier
  • CC - Chair Car
  • SL - Sleeper Class
  • 2S - Second Seating
The various accomodation types are Seats, Berths and Chair Car.

1A, 2A, 3A, FC and SL have siting option in the day time and have sleeping on berths in the night time. Officialy the time to use the berts for sleeping is from 9 PM to 6 AM. This timing applies only for 3A and SL in which there are 3 berts each side and the middle berth needs to be folded, for faciliting siting.

No comments:

Post a Comment